Home > Courses >CSAT
About CSAT

CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test) is a preliminary exam (elimination test) to select candidates who can appear for the IAS Mains Exams. The CSAT has 2 papers and both are compulsory for all


Paper I: General Knowledge (objective type paper for max 200 marks)


Paper II: General Aptitude (objective type paper for max 200 marks





The Examination shall comprise two compulsory papers of 200 marks each. Both the question papers will be of the objective type (multiple choice questions).

Paper I - (200 marks) Duration : Two hours

  • Current events of national and international importance.
  • History of India and Indian National Movement.
  • Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.
  • Indian Polity and Governance - Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
  • Economic and Social Development Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics,Social Sector initiatives, etc.
  • General issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change - that do not require subject specialization.
  • General Science.

Paper II- (200 marks) Duration: Two hours

  • Comprehension
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills;
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  • Decision-making and problem-solving
  • General mental ability
  • Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. - Class X level)
  • English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).

Careers in civil services

Our Programs


go to top